house lust / despair

Everywhere we go, K. looks at people’s houses. That person has a porch! That house has round windows. This house has flagstones, oooh look at the pretty flowers. And I say, yes, it is very nice. But that person has to pay for snow removal, and this person has to fix their own plumbing. That person hired a landscaper, and I bet that person has a leak in their roof.

But of course I too have terrible house lust, and suddenly everyone I know who owns property is an object of overwhelming jealousy. Because I want a house too, very very badly, even more than I want an engagement ring [subject for another post]. I want to be able to renovate, I want the space to invite people over (difficult in this 500 sq. ft rental), I want to not have neighbors that keep me up late regardless of whether I’m invited to the party or not.

Most of all, I want the legitimacy of being a Real Middle-Class Adult, because we all know that’s what it really comes down to. I will dream of a house of our own, I will plan the things we might make for it, the paints we might choose…but unless money falls from the sky to pay off our student loans, I can’t see how we will ever qualify for a mortgage of any size.

2 Responses to house lust / despair

  1. meridith says:

    I’m a little scared of the idea that this might be our last year of renting. I’d like it to go on forever and I suppose it could, but I was brought up that it was more economical to make payments than to rent. I wonder if that’s still true.

  2. linaria says:

    well, like anything, I think it depends. certainly, a mortgage builds equity whereas rent evaporates every month. and if you a) DON’T get a massive mortgage, in b) a neighborhood that’s upwardly mobile…

    on the other hand, you might do better to continue to rent and invest the rest of your money something that gains you interest rather than charging it. and I get the impression (from my professors, things online) that real estate is not the investment it once was–since you can’t really make money off a house unless you sell it, and that’s not as good a deal as it once was…

    of course no money talk addresses the other reasons people buy houses. for the social cache, for the ability to control your space: being able to paint, having certain pets. emotional reasons.

Leave a Reply

