sourdough days

Finally, sweater weather! It’s 60 degrees, the sun is out, the leaves are starting to turn–the girls are all wearing sweaters and tall boots–and all I want to do is go home and bake. My sourdough starter has been sleeping in the freezer all summer, but it’s getting time to revive it and make some delicious food.

In my perfect world, I would have a lot of friends who would come over on a Friday night, we’d watch a snarky movie and drink some hard cider (local, of course), play some games, fall asleep late and happily drunk…and in the morning I would make a huge pile of sourdough pancakes to feed the bleary partiers. Everyone would admire my perfect, golden pancakes, and remark upon the fun they’d had. I’m fairly sure it would involve sliced apples or possibly maple yogurt as well.

It’s the nature of fantasies to exclude genuine concerns, so this whole affair would not involve any dishes, empties, or leftover clothing to be returned to owners–but even so, it’s probably best that I’ve neither the kind of friends, nor the amount of space required, to host such a party. Part of me wishes I had that kind of life, but I haven’t, so I’ll have to make do dreaming of the life I could have had, and eating all the pancakes myself:)

7 Responses to sourdough days

  1. ooh, sourdough pancakes…i want to be at your parties ;)

  2. Bucth Boo says:

    You have such better breakfasts than us pathetic brits!!

  3. linaria says:

    ladybrettashley: alas, I haven’t yet figured out how to have a job, go to school, and still have a social life, so it really is just a daydream…but since I’m at it, you’re absolutely invited:)

    butchboo: well, what I’ve described is maybe a little fancier than usual…but still a typical sort of rural New England breakfast, except without sausage cause I don’t eat meat. You can have apple sausage if you’d like though;)

  4. I love pancakes. Whilst out in the States over summer, I had a nibble on the most divine pancake I have ever tasted – blueberry buckwheat. Fortunately for me, I only had the slightest nibble. Hours later I came up in nasty, unsightly hives all over my back and shoulders. It took us several days to figure out that the culprit was the buckwheat, but thank heavens that we did. Apparently, the first response to buckwheat allergy is hives, the next time it’s full-blown anaphylactic shock. Bugger.

    Apple sausage sounds really good, by the way.

    Oh, and I’ll do my best to post lots of British-isms to keep you happy. Obviously, I don’t even notice them. The Professor is constantly amused too, although she’s becoming a little more immune to them nowadays and even trots them out herself. Amusing.

  5. linaria says:

    Buckwheat allergy? That’s uncommon here, as I understand it’s more common in Asian countries where they eat a lot of soba noodles. Fortunately for you, you’ll rarely see buckwheat here except in pancakes–we’re a very corn/wheat/rice focused country and “alternative grains” are really a health food movement so far (unfortunate for those with wheat/corn/rice allergies which are quite common…) If you haven’t, you should probably have allergy testing done, in case there’s anything else you’re sensitive to. Much better to know before you find yourself half-dead.

    Apples are something we have vast quantities of in the Northeast. Especially right now. They go in practically everything.

    Little secret? I have a habit of thinking in Britishisms, developed from watching too many BBC productions growing up. But of course I can’t use them because then it becomes an affectation–so I’m jealous;)

  6. You’re absolutely right, the buckwheat thing is pretty uncommon outside of Asia. Trust me. I ised to like to think of myself as having an iron constitution but as I get older I think the iron is rusting.

    Ah, the good old BBC. I’m going to miss BBC productions, actually. One of the few things I’ll suffer pangs about.

  7. linaria says:

    Eh, allergies are a funny thing. I had a similar experience but with a nasty little flying creature that stung me. Food allergies are much more difficult, I think, because of the social politics of communal eating.

    One of the few things? I would think there’d be lots of things. Grass is greener, I suppose. We do have BBC America (for whatever that’s worth) but there’s always Netflix as well. I have a great independent video store near me that has every movie Colin Firth has ever been in;)

Leave a Reply

